none
Having trouble understanding Users as opposed to Resources RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm trying to configure Project Server 2010, I have lots of Sharepoint 2010 Experience but on Project 2003 Experience.

I need to use FBA and Windows, I have that setup now and it was by no means easy.

In PS 2003 you could set up a resource in Project Pro and you would generate a corresponding PWA user.

What is the equivalent in 2010 (and maybe with FBA but I don't think that will be any different)?

If I add a resource and then try to add the user so the resource can access PWA it says the User Name is already in use. If I create the user, there is no resource.  I get that not all PWA users are resources but there must be some way to establish a "user resource" account.

The FBA users are not people. The are machines, each with their own PC. There are multiple operators per machine, and they share reporting duties for the progress that machine makes on multiple projects. So the FBA user account needs publisahed assignments and task sheet. Probably not timesheet.

Thanks, I'm just getting back to this project after a couple months so conceptually rusty.

Monday, July 30, 2012 12:56 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Toomanyhats.

A user interacts with the system, and as such has to be verified with a user account and password (typically windows domain). 

A resource is something that is used on a project (machine, people, materials etc).  Resources can be different types - Work, material or cost.  Work resources that log onto project server need to have an AD account. 

In your scenario, I would create the FBA resources that can login to project server to represent the machines - they will need a dummy acccount (i'm unfamiliar with FBA).  I would create the operators as users or resources, and give these "operators" delegation rights for the machines, and perform the progress that way.

HTH - others may have an opinion!

Ben Howard [MVP] blog | web