Is this security alert real? RRS feed

  • Question


    I have been in the process of removing....slowing but surely...AntivirXP08....it's a long drawn out process.  I am getting a security alert that keeps popping up that I think is probably a fake alert.  Is there a way to tell for sure?  I have a screenshot of it and I can im someone the link on photobucket or post it here, if that's allowed?



    Thursday, September 4, 2008 11:57 PM


All replies

  • Posting a link to the screenie is allowed, and would be very helpful.   Smile

    Friday, September 5, 2008 2:05 AM
  • Hi,


    AntivirXP08 is a know rogue security application. See here for more info : http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/malware-removal/remove-antivirus-xp-2008


    Friday, September 5, 2008 9:47 AM
  • Thanks...I found out that it was indeed a scam, associated with the AntivirXP....which after several attempts I think we have erradicated.



    Monday, September 8, 2008 5:40 PM

    MalwareBytes is one scanner we have effectively used to remove this from employee personal machines.


    It goes as no surprise that we found this scanner AFTER 2 days of tireless manual removal.

    Wednesday, September 10, 2008 11:42 AM