none
Unsupported Server Issue RRS feed

• Question

• Has anyone else encountered this? I have been using Project Online for 5 months now and all of a sudden I get a dialog box titled "unsupported server" when I try to connect from Project Pro to Project Online or when opening a Project in Project Pro from one selected in the Project Centre in PWA.

The dialog box states - "The Server you are trying to access is using an Authentication protocol not supported by this version of Office" - I did a Google search and there is a suggestion this is being caused by Office updates.

I click on the OK button in the dialog box and then get the "Could not connect to Server" dialog box which has a Retry option, clicking Retry does connect me to Project Online from Project Pro.

I have not made any changes to my Office 365 account to my knowledge.

I am also being presented with the login dialog box where I have to provide my Office 365 email and password every time I open Project Professional and from memory don't recall this being the case prior to this issue being encountered.

With good wishes,

Dominic

Microsoft Project Evangelist

Twitter:   LinkedIn:    Web:   

Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:06 AM

All replies

• I thought this Blog from Tom might address my issue

http://www.projility.com/microsoft-projects-unsupported-server-error/

Sadly it does not appear to have fixed my problem - I now have 2 accounts using the same credentials and still get the error message. Next step will be to uninstall and re-install Project Pro for Office 365.

With good wishes,

Dominic

Saturday, January 14, 2017 1:00 PM
  • Reinstalling Project did not fix the issue either - as an aside removing Project resulted in all of Microsoft Office being removed, no option to remove just Project even though Project was listed as a separate programme in Control Panel.