New site question RRS feed

• Question

• So I am a little new to SCCM 2012 and have been tasked with rolling out a fresh infrastructure to about 20k devices. I've had the product up in a lab for about 5 months now and know the ins and outs pretty well (I also have used SMS 1.2, 2.0 and 2003 previously).

So my question is (and I know this might be ambiguous), what is the ideal infrastructure for a site my size? Not all 20k devices are in one location, so I was going to do something like this:

• 1 primary site (SQL on separate box) -- Primary site would run a Distribution Point, Management Point and Reporting Services Point
    • I would then put 1 DP in all the sites with both large amount of clients or slow WAN links.
    • I would like to roll the client out using WSUS

Now the catch here is that we have an existing SCCM environment up that is already published so automatic client site assignment won't work for my site. And no, the intent is that the environments will remain separate (internal political issue).

With all of that, is my infrastructure layout going to be efficient or do I need to expand management points to the larger sites for console access or some such?

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Thursday, December 4, 2014 2:04 PM

All replies

• Hi,

It is really hard to say without knowing more, WAN links, number of DPs, e.tc. but in theori it should work just fine. I would probably run the SQL on the same server depending on the hardware available to gain performance and keep the environment easier to manage.

For the console question, the console connects to the SMS Provider and not the Management Point so from that perspective there is no need for more MP's, also keep in mind that all clients will evaluate all MP's and choose one randomly.

Regards,
    Jörgen

-- My System Center blog ccmexec.com -- Twitter @ccmexec

Thursday, December 4, 2014 2:19 PM
  • The admin console uses the SMS Provider, not the MP.