none
az ml command not working on ML Server on Windows 2016 RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to ML Server. We just installed ML Server 9.3.0 on Windows 2016. After installed, we tried Administration Utility for ML which opens a cmd with admin permission to run command "az ml --help", it gave error message: 'ml' is not in the 'az' command group.

My understanding is that, in ML 9.3, we c use CLI ( az ml) to configure ML Server. But I could not get CLI work in the first step. Any help would be really appreciated.

Lin Zhang

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 2:32 PM

All replies

• Did you bootstrap the node first?  There is this shortcut command:  az ml admin bootstrap

If that doesn't work, there is a slightly longer version:  az ml admin node setup --onebox --admin-password <Password> --confirm-password <Password>

The doc that explains the steps is this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/machine-learning-server/operationalize/configure-machine-learning-server-one-box#how-to-configure

Heidi Steen (MSFT)

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 4:04 PM
  • You might need to add the CLI extension manually.

Please look here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/machine-learning-server/operationalize/configure-run-diagnostics#az-error-argument-command_package-invalid-choice-ml

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 4:31 PM
  • Thanks for the reply. I have read this document many times and the links in the document. I have also tried the steps to follow instruction such as:

az ml admin setup --onebox --admin-password  <pw> --confirm-password <pw>

it gives the same error: 'ml' is not in the 'az' command group.

Have you or anyone actually make your ML Server configuration work based on this document? I have read it many times for the last couple of days. I don't know what is missing here.

Thanks.

Lin Zhang

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 5:42 PM
  • The commands work for me.  You're not on Windows 10 or a client OS by any chance?  The operationalization features aren't supported on a client OS.