none
MDT 2013 Update Deployment Share Failed - Illegal Characters in path RRS feed

• Question

• I cannot figure this one out...any help would be greatly appreciated.  

I am somewhat new to MDT, but was able to set it up with our custom image, and several task sequences to accomplish what we need.  We have been using MDT and this deployment share for 3-4 months now with no prior issues.

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling Windows ADK 8.1

I have tried changing the WinPE deployment settings on the share.

Nothing I have tried seems to make any difference.  

We are not using PXE and therefore I rely on the boot image so that we can USB boot for deployment. The deployment process is still working fine, however I cannot update the share and we have some new computers that need new networking drivers in the boot image to function.

Two possible causes that I can think of:

1: somehow WAIK was installed in addition to Windows ADK which I have since removed.

2: I have added new drivers for 3 new models and 2 of the three models are labeled as "SCO-550" and "SCO-650," and have been added under a new manufacturer folder.   I am not sure if the dash in the driver folder name could be causing this problem, none of the other systems we use have a dash in them. (The third new set of drivers follows the same name structure as most of our other drivers...dell systems which I have never had an issue adding in the past)

Error log:

=== Making sure the deployment share has the latest x86 tools ===
    === Making sure the deployment share has the latest x64 tools ===

=== Processing Generic (x64) boot image ===

System.Management.Automation.CmdletInvocationException: Illegal characters in path. ---> System.ArgumentException: Illegal characters in path.
       at System.IO.Path.CheckInvalidPathChars(String path)
       at System.IO.Path.NormalizePathFast(String path, Boolean fullCheck)