user input interface for sql server RRS feed

• Question

• What are some common ways/tools to use to develop a user input interface against a sql server db? I would like to avoid a full web development because I have no experience in that. Would excel or access be a sensible tool to consider? I am basically trying to give my users an input mechanism for certain data entry. Right now, what I do is I take a formatted data file and do the load myself, but it would be better to have the users upload data as needed via some input interface they can type the data into.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013 4:10 PM

Answers

• You can use Microsoft Access, or Visual Studio Lightswitch, which is intended for simple UI's doesn't require building a "full" web application.

David

David http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dbrowne/

• Proposed as answer by Naomi N Wednesday, January 1, 2014 9:53 PM
    • Marked as answer by Fanny Liu Monday, January 6, 2014 9:49 AM
    Wednesday, January 1, 2014 8:38 PM

All replies

• Hi,

How about SSRS - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms159106.aspx

sathya - www.allaboutmssql.com ** Mark as answered if my post solved your problem and Vote as helpful if my post was useful **.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013 4:18 PM
  • What are some common ways/tools to use to develop a user input interface against a sql server db? I would like to avoid a full web development because I have no experience in that. Would excel or access be a sensible tool to consider? I am basically trying to give my users an input mechanism for certain data entry. Right now, what I do is I take a formatted data file and do the load myself, but it would be better to have the users upload data as needed via some input interface they can type the data into.

What kind of data it is going to be? Raw data? If they can use SSMS then they can "Right Click" > "Edit Top 200 Rows" and insert data directly into table.