Current script must identify the user who ran it RRS feed

• Question

• I am fairly new at Powershell and want to be able to find out who ran the script

this is my code so far

param(
        [Parameter(Mandatory=$true)]$csvfile
    )

Import-Module activedirectory

$users = Import-Csv -Path $csvfile

foreach ($User in $users)
    {  $Displayname = $User.lastname + "," + $User.Firstname
       $GivenName = $User.Firstname
       $Sn = $User.Lastname
       $Name = "$($User.Lastname), $($User.Firstname)"
       $SamAccountName = "$($User.Firstname).$($User.Lastname)"
       $UserPrincipalName = $UserPrincipalName = $User.Firstname + "." + $User.Lastname + "@test.ruh.local" 
       $ProfilePath = $User.OU 
       $Description = $User.Description
       $password = $User.Password1

#creates new users
       New-ADUser -DisplayName $Name -givenname "$GivenName" -Surname "$SN" -Name "$Name" -SamAccountName "$SamAccountName" -UserPrincipalName "$UserPrincipalName" -ProfilePath "$ProfilePath" -Description "$Description" -Enabled $False
       Add-ADGroupMember -identity Guests -Members $SamAccountName #adds the groups
       Add-ADGroupMember -identity Users -Members $SamAccountName

Write-Output "$(Get-Date) $SamAccountName" | Out-file C:\temp\test25.txt -append

I would ideally like to add it to the current out-file 

please could someone advise how I do this 

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 11:28 AM

Answers

• You'll need to add a Try/Catch block around the code that might generate an error.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/microsoft.powershell.core/about/about_try_catch_finally?view=powershell-6

• Marked as answer by Jon Gomes Thursday, April 11, 2019 8:09 AM
    Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:43 PM

All replies

• write-output "Script being executed by $env:username"

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 12:22 PM
  • thankyou for you help on that.