none
Power BI Report > using Excel file (hosted on Sharepoint) as data source > how to do? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Power BI and need some startup pointers to proceed.

I have a requirement to generate a Power BI report using an excel file as the data source. This excel file is uploaded on a Sharepoint site and is timely refreshed.

I have got Office 2013 installed on my desktop with Power Query, Pivot, View add-ins enabled.

Queries

1. How to set the data source that points to the hosted excel file?
    2. How to ensure that the report always shows the fresh data?

I would appreciate if some one can share some pointers to these queries.

Thanks!

-Vinay Pugalia
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post or "Vote as Helpful".
    Web : Inkey Solutions
    Blog : My Blog
    Email : Vinay Pugalia

Friday, July 24, 2015 5:52 AM

Answers

• What are you using to try to connect to the Excel file? Although I have tried this in all of the different methods and it works to some degree (see above)

Power BI Desktop - Choose to connect to an Excel file and you will get an Explorer file browsing pop-up. Click in the "address" bar where it says "This PC > Windows (C:)..." and paste the URL of your SharePoint document library

Excel - Same as Power BI Desktop

Power BI 2.0 (the Service) - Choose Local File and do the same thing when given the file browsing window. I ran into an error here where it let me choose the file but said that there was some sort of error that it couldn't find any data.

• Marked as answer by vinaypugalia Thursday, July 30, 2015 4:47 AM
    Sunday, July 26, 2015 1:34 PM

All replies

• This probably belongs on the new Power BI community forums, http://community.powerbi.com.