Logging Script information into a .txt file RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Powershell and working on writing a script that will create a config file for our current DB2 servers, move it to a different file location (A file that will be created if it's not there), then perform a brute force (silent) uninstall. For the brute force uninstall, there is a log file created with IBM's db2unins that I can use (Maybe just put it in the same folder? unless somebody knows how to combine the logs), but I want the whole script to be logged.  That is my main issue, I just want everything in a txt file somewhere, especially if it's a silent uninstall. Below is my powershell script:

# Specify the path

$OriginalPathfile = "C:\DB2Log.txt"

$destDir = "C:\DB2_Config_backup"

# Check if the folder exist if not create it 

If (!(Test-Path $destDir)) {

New-Item -Path $destDir -ItemType Directory 

}

else {

Write-Host "Directory already exists!" 

}

#Will create a new configuration file and will save it as "DB2_backup_config.txt" Each time it is ran, it will replace the prior version. 

db2cfexp.exe 'C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN\DB2_backup_config.txt' 

#Moving the config backup file to the folder that was created earlier. 
    Copy-Item 'C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN\DB2_backup_config.txt' -Destination C:\DB2_Config_backup 

#Will run brute force uninstall    -Y causes no prompts to appear
    db2unins -y

]

Also, if anybody knows how I should turn this into an executable or run with a scheduling software, I would appreciate it. 

Thanks in advance for any assistance. 

Thursday, March 3, 2016 3:33 PM

Answers

• Hey Cookm3

Heres a bit of constructive non judgemental advice for you.

When I teach PowerShell I recommend all my delegates use the PowerShell in a Month of Lunches book by Don Jones.

Its a great book and explains everything as you go along.