none
License key for the 2 extra VM’s in server 2016 standard. RRS feed

• Question

• I just finished installing and setting up server 2016 (standard). I am new to this stuff, but everything went REALLY smooth - very  impressed.

I also setup Hyper-V, and installed 2016 into a vm. When I attempted to activate the VM/Hyper-V instance, the license key for the main install did/does not work.

It is my understanding that we get/have two additional VM license activations when using server 2016 standard?

Am I to use a different key for these additional two vm’s? I did seem some “info” about automatic vm license activations, but that only applies to the versions “above” standard 2016 server edition.

Any help as to what I am supposed to use for those additional 2 keys (if I am correct) is appreciated.

Regards,
    Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada

Thursday, February 9, 2017 6:06 PM

All replies

• I also setup Hyper-V, and installed 2016 into a vm. When I attempted to activate the VM/Hyper-V instance, the license key for the main install did/does not work.

What happened or what errors did you get? Do the guests have internet access?

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management

Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees, and confers no rights.

Thursday, February 9, 2017 7:48 PM
  • There no limits to the number of VM's you install - never was to my knowledge. You can create and install 200 VM's if you want. So there no restrictions on creating VM's. You can install Linux into 15 VM's and windows into another 30 if you want. ZERO restrictions exists in this regards.