none
Help assigning task to Resource Name in sub projects RRS feed

• Question

• I can't figure this out. I have a master file called 2011. Inside the master are sub project files; John, Jamie, Joe, etc. Each user publishes their tasks from their own project file on the server and they appear updated on the Master file "2011". The problem is... if John re-assigns one of his tasks to "Resource Name" Jamie, it appears under John's task list since that is where it was created, but never appears on Jamie's task list even though he selected Jamie and published it.  Can sub project files interact with "Resource Names"? We don't know if this is even setup correctly.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Running Project Server 2010 and Project Professional 2010

Tuesday, January 4, 2011 6:52 PM

Answers

• First answer to your question, since MS Project Implements Check IN & Check Out functionality so at any time only one person would have edit rights, so others would need to wait till the first one checks it back, Now as per your description master project is nothing but a placeholder to sub projects, so when you create a master project make sure that you insert the subproject with read only,  by doing this it will ensure that your sub projects are not checked out when anyone opens the master project

Steps to create master project : http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-help/insert-subprojects-into-a-master-project-HP045305590.aspx   

Now There are 2 ways i could think of, if you properly implement the master project and since all your subprojects are available for editing, so John and Jamie can manually enter their tasks in subproject without having the read only issue.