DLink DNS-320 NAS looses connection during write RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have been using a Dlink DNS-320 as a NAS storage for several years without trouble. It is configured with 2 drives in RAID 1 configuration. It reports the drives work as expected (when connecting to it via its IP address in a browser).

The update to Windows 10 did not change anything to connectivity, everything used to work well. But recently (maybe after a Windows update?) it started to have problems.

I can read its content, stream media, etc, without problems. But when triting to it (typically photo folders being transfered for storage) it often (not always) looses connection during or at the beginning of the writing process.. I am under the impression that larger numbers of files are more likely to fail. This occurs whether I am using File explorer, a program such as Lightroom, but not with a file explorer on my Android devices via wifi.

When it occurs (and that is most of the time) the NAS becomes unavailable, I cannot browse files on it, read files, Widnows reports it as missing and recommends I check my connection. Waiting a short while brings it back on, and I can try again. If a transfer is successful, the next one will always fail. Meanwhile, I can access the NAS via a web browser without problem.

I have tested two routers and that didn't change anything.

What is going on?

Thank you.

• Edited by bdery Friday, September 2, 2016 12:04 PM
    Thursday, September 1, 2016 11:33 AM

Answers

• Okay, I found the answer. I'll write it down in case it helps someone else.

The problem was caused by the way Windows and the NAS manage the NAS's recycle bin. When using another OS/device (such as a tablet or cell phone) writing to the NAS simply overwrites anything that's in the recycle bin. However, Windows won't write over anything that has not been permanently deleted. It appears my recycle bin was too large for the remaining capacity of the drives, which caused the problems.