Powershell script to install multiple *.cab file RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Gurus , 

I am a beginner /noob in powershell and i have a requirement to write the powershell script to install windows updates by extracting the cab files  from msu . 

1. Get the input from the user param ($sourcefilepath) 

2. validate if filepath exist 

3. If filepath exist , validate the file signature subject and extension 

Got stuck here

4 Script should validate all the files from  $sourcefilepath and verify its signature ( as microsoft )and extension as msu

5 if the above condition is met (Point 4), then , copy the files to the $destinationfolder  

6. Extract the  each msu and install it one by one with results.

Can someone guide me here please ? 

Thanks.. 

Friday, January 24, 2020 4:02 PM

All replies

• Please - when you crosspost the same question at the same time in different forums leave at least a hint that you did so and a link to the other forum post.

https://powershell.org/forums/topic/powershell-script-to-install-multiple-cab-files/

Live long and prosper!

(79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

Friday, January 24, 2020 5:38 PM
  • There is never a need to do what you are asking.  The MSU and the system updater do all of this for you.  The technology is pretty much locked down by Microsoft as a security and reliability measure.  You should not try to undo this.  The only reason I can see for attempting to do this is to hack the files prior to installation.  That, also, won't work.  The technology prevents alteration of any system components.  Any professional hacker knows how to hack these installs which is why we don't download MSU files from sources other than Microsoft.

If you need specific patches for some reason these are available from the Microsft Catalog and can be downloaded individually for those that can be installed independently.

\_(ツ)_/

Friday, January 24, 2020 6:14 PM