none
Granting Operations access to DPM RRS feed

• Question

• Question -

We are using SCOM + DPM + VMM . Im a domain admin so i can access no issues.

I want to turn over this solution for our Operations team who manages my companies backups. They have been granted a role in SCOM. I've installed SCOM+DPM+VMM.

From the users pc i can access all three application no problem.

When the user launches DPM from his win7 pc he gets error -

Do i add the users access on the DPM servers to the "MSDPMTrustedUsers" group?

In the interim i will test this solution. 

ANNCEX

Wednesday, October 9, 2013 3:46 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Can you please provide the DPM Version and DPM Update Rollup version you are seeing this on ?

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. Regards, Mike J. [MSFT] This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013 8:25 PM
  • DPM 2012 SP1 Rollup 3 - Protection Agent 4.1.3419 running on windows server 2012, backing up a 2012 hyper-v host cluster of 8 nodes and 16CSV's

We are runnning SCOM 2012 SP1 update rollup 3 as well & SCVMM SP1 ver 3.1.6027.0

For my operaitons person he is running this on his Win7 PC.

ANNCEX

Tuesday, October 15, 2013 8:37 PM
  • Hi,

Thanks for that..  Ok Good news is we have discovered recently that DPM 2012 Sp1 UR2 has introduced a regression that causes this issue.

On the DPM SQL server, a built-in database role called ‘MSDPMReaderRole’ does not have Execute permission on some stored procedures in DPMDB database which causes this issue to occur.   It is still under investigation, but as a workaround you can assign ‘MSDPMExecRole’ role membership to the user. (see screenshot below).