none
Dynamic Distribution List not sending to specific site

Question

• Hi folks,

We use DDLs in my company, but one of them has started to give hassle.

We have two offices in two different countries, but all MBs and accounts are on the same domain. The mailboxes are divided between a couple of datacenters, but all sit within the same Exchange environment.

Three DDLs exists - Office 1, Office 2, and All Staff. The individual office one work fine. The All Staff one only picks up users for Office 1, not Office 2. However, when I do a query on the DDL from PowerShell, I get all the users from Office 2 showing as recipients. I'm using this query:

$members = Get-DynamicDistributionGroup AllStaff
    (Get-Recipient -RecipientPreviewFilter $members.LdapRecipientFilter | sort DisplayName | select Displayname,PrimarySmtpAddress)
    (Get-Recipient -RecipientPreviewFilter $members.LdapRecipientFilter | select Displayname,PrimarySmtpAddress).count

I'm new to TSing DDLs - I know how they work, but I don't understand if I query and it shows correct, why sending an email will skew the recipient list.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Thursday, February 23, 2017 11:21 AM

Answers

• Just to reply to this, I figured out what was wrong. It was the stupid -RecipientContainer parameter that was set to the wrong OU.

In fact, it was working for years, but I don't know why as it was always wrong.

Just glad I eventually figured it out.

• Marked as answer by yeoo_andys_ni Thursday, June 15, 2017 4:06 PM
    Thursday, June 15, 2017 4:06 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Could you share output of Get-dynamicdistributiongroup "All staff one" | ft RecipientFilter

$FTE = Get-DynamicDistributionGroup "All staff one"  
    Get-Recipient -RecipientPreviewFilter $FTE.RecipientFilter -Resultsize unlimited > Txt.txt

Abrar Kaberi| MCSA Office 365 | MCSA Exchange server 2010 | Red Hat Certified Engineer | https://www.linkedin.com/in/abrar-kaberi-46a483102/