Deleted machine showing up as still needing updates RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to WSUS and still trying to figure things out. I have deleted a machine from WSUS 3.2 as it is has been retired. I have a bunch of updates that say needed by one computer. That one computer is the one I have deleted. Is there a way to get these updates to reflect that the machine has been deleted?

Friday, February 9, 2018 4:33 PM

All replies

• Remove That Machine Again from WSUS Console.

Anyway If you have configure Client side Target, You have to delete that Computer Object from AD also...

Furthermore.... Please update Your WSUS upto latest patch level.

Then Remove Sever from console and add WSUS Server into WSUS console after rebooting WSUS server and let me know the stsus

Friday, February 9, 2018 11:10 PM
  • The issue you have is about WSUS Maintenance. Simply stated - you aren't doing it. Not that you know about doing it or what not because you're new to WSUS, but this is the reason why you're seeing your issues.

As mentioned by Udara, since the machine was removed from AD - the device should be removed from WSUS - either manually, or by other methods. One of the 'tools' that Microsoft has is the Server Cleanup Wizard (SCW). The unfortunate part to this tool is that it's not very good, however it WILL remove computer objects that have not reported into WSUS within 30 days. The downside, is that this SCW has to be run Manually.

This answers your question directly, but now I'm going to open your eyes to a new possibility as there are many more things that SHOULD be done by a WSUS Administrator that are not documented well. WAM does them all for you!

Please have a look at the WSUS Automated Maintenance (WAM) system. It is an automated maintenance system for WSUS, the last system you'll ever need to maintain WSUS!

https://community.spiceworks.com/scripts/show/2998-wsus-automated-maintenance-formerly-adamj-clean-wsus

What it does: