none
Windows Server 2012 - problem with Disable any functions for users on Win XP

Question

• Hello!

I'm new in Windows Server and i try to learn it. Please be tolerant.

I have trouble with group policy for users in Windows XP Pro

I'm trying disable functions like Task manager, Control Panel, disable desctop background etc. Any one of this function not works for me.

I Have 2 virtual machines: 1. Win Serv 2012, 2. Winows XP Pro. Both can ping therebetween and web sites ( google.com )

I created users : user1 and user2 and some more users. I instaled DHCP, AD DS, DNS. I connected  My XP to domain. All based functionaly was done and for example permissions to files works for them.

What i do for polices:

-Create Organization Unit in my domain.

- In GPO i create new GPO and i go EDIT

- I go to user configuration -> polices -> admin templates -> control panel and i edit "Prohibit acces to control Panel and PC settings" -> ENABLE ( so i disable it for users)

- Same i do for Task Manager, Wallpaper change etc.

- Next i go back to AD Users and Computers -> refresh on domain to show new Unit -> go tu Users -> Right Click on user1 -> Move... -> and move to new Unity.

- Then i logout User1 and log in again User1.

- And unfortunately User1 still can go to control Panel :/

Some body know what i do bad or what is wrong with this that my users on Win Xp Pro can operate setting which were disabled for them?

Tuesday, August 16, 2016 9:08 AM

Answers

• Hi,
    Please run gpresult /h on the windows xp machine to see if the group policy is applied successfully.
    And you could have a try to disable control panel by modifying registry as below and see if it works:
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\
    Explorer]
    Value Name: NoControlPanel
    Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
    Value Data: 1