none
POSReady 2009 - If FBReseal doesn't happen? RRS feed

• Question

• POSReady Newbie here with questions.

Scenario: Rolling out a big PR9 install....and I am just baffled at how it's being done, but I don't want to challenge the big guy's methods. We're getting issues and I am trying to dig in to, "what should be done" instead of "what just works right now".

Problems:

1.) I don't believe the original image provided was FBReseal'ed....so, is that a problem? Would I know? Can I tell?

2.) I believe a single system with PR9 was loaded with additional 3rd party software and ghost'd to an image. Is this an acceptable procedure?

3.) Once the image is pushed to a new system, a system name and IP (networking) is changed along with running a newSID.exe. Is this an acceptable procedure?

Clarifications: All systems are from the same provider and have the same hardware. I am looking for deployment procedure verification from those who know more than I do. I had read newSID.exe (sysinternals) was retired and MS non-supported and sysprep isn't needed for PR9 because of FBReseal.

I am seeing weird application issues on some systems deployed, but I can't tell right now if it's because of cloning, imaging, h/w corruption, or s/w issues. Yay.

Any wisdom, pointers, links, or references would be much appreciated. Completely new to the Point of Sales systems world.
    Saturday, November 3, 2012 5:51 AM

All replies

• We are using fbreseal -keepall to keep autologin-settings, user-settings, etc. and avoid that they get reset. Additionally we use a Windows startup-script to enable FBWF after the image was deployed successfully. (if applicable for you)