Server with Quickbook RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone,

I have been paying for a service for 2 years now and was thinking its time to have my own server due to cost in the long run.  The way it works now is I have 4 computers that remote desktop onto a 2008 server and have my own desktop with QuickBooks premiere on it.

My question now is what software would I need to use to make this happen.  I'm just looking into the software side not hardware yet.  I was thinking Windows Server 2012 but there are so many versions I have no clue what one is correct.  I see VM, TS and RDS are ways to go but what one would be the best way.  Any Advice would be great..

Thanks in Advance

Ralph

Monday, January 12, 2015 1:20 PM

Answers

• Hi Ralph,

After going through your scenario here is what you can think of.

As you have 4-5 users to remotely access the software\server, you can go for server 2012 or server 2012 r2 with 5 User CAL (Personally suggest for server 2012 R2 for lot of extra advanced features). 

After that install the Server, join the server and other client computer in domain. Install Remote Desktop Service role (until server 2008 called “Terminal Service”); install RD Connection Broker, RD Session Host, RD Web Access {if want to use RemoteApp feature} and RD Licensing role. Activate the RD License server and install purchased RDS CAL {for remote access we need “Windows Server CAL + RDS CAL}. Install the required “Quickbook” software on it and ready to go.

Now it’s up to you whether you want to provide RDP access or RemoteApp access to your users, and according to that you can define your strategy.

For Hardware part and for your cost effectiveness, you can need to have one server install Server 2012\R2 on it with Hyper-v role and then create 2 VM (1st as AD DS and 2nd as RDS).

You can get more guide from below link.
    Remote Desktop Services Overview
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-in/library/hh831447.aspx