Creating Network Locations RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to powershell scripting, and am exploring its utility for maintaining a home network with five computers.  I find that I upgrade my computers frequently, and would like to have scripts to automate portions, if not all, of the process.  I have setup powershell scirpts for much of the process, but am stuck on one part. 

I use a NAS as part of my network for obvious functions, including file sharing, and typically use the Windows network locations function (i.e., open This PC, right click in the space under "Network Locations", and create a link) to provide easy access to certain folders on my NAS.  I would like to create a powershell script to do this, and have been partially successful with the code below.  The problem that I have is that the network location icon that displays also show the word "shortcut" and a size designation (e.g.,"1.73KB"), while the icons generated by the OS do not.  Is there an easy way to set up these links?

I have also tried using mklink but ran into a different set of challenges with using CMD commands.

Thanks.

#Use shortcut to create network locations.
    function CreateShortcut ($SourceName,$TargetName)
    {
    # Create shell object
      $WshShell = New-Object -ComObject WScript.Shell

# Create shortcut
      $Shortcut = $WshShell.CreateShortcut($TargetName)
      $Shortcut.Description ="Network Location Shortcut"
      $Shortcut.IconLocation = "shell32.dll,275"
      $Shortcut.TargetPath = $SourceName
      $Shortcut.Save()
    }

$NetworkLocation = "\Windows 8.1 Installation"
    $ShortcutDestinationFolder = $Env:APPDATA + "\Microsoft\Windows\Network Shortcuts\"
    $TargetName = $ShortcutDestination + $NetworkLocation + ".lnk"
    $SourceName = "\\DiskStation" + "\Windows 8.1 Installation"
    CreateShortcut -SourceName $SourceName -TargetName $TargetName

• Edited by xxxxxxx1 Wednesday, September 16, 2015 3:39 AM
    Wednesday, September 16, 2015 12:56 AM

Answers