none
Removing Domain users from Local Administrators in several servers. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

I need some help with a script, recently we found that there was a startup script in a gpo that was adding Domain users to the local admins of all our Servers and computers, we disabled the GPO right away and its been investigated, but I need to remove the domain users from a list of about 300 servers, Since I'm not that good at scripting I was hoping someone could lend me a had. All I need to setup is a small script that removes Domain users from local administrators of a list of servers.
    I found this script somewhere, but I have no idea how to adapt it to remove that group, and to pull servers from a list.

Dim strLocalAdminGroup
    Dim strComputer
    Dim remadmins

Set WshShell = Wscript.CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
    Set WshSysEnv = WshShell.Environment("SYSTEM")
    Set WshUserEnv = WshShell.Environment("User")
    Set WshProEnv = WshShell.Environment("Process")

strComputer = WshProEnv("COMPUTERNAME")
    remadmins = array("DomainName\UserID","Everyone")
    'note that this pulls the everyone group from the administrators group if it exists

strLocalAdminGroup = "Administrators"

For i = lbound(remAdmins) to ubound(remAdmins)
    Set grp = GetObject("WinNT://" & strComputer & "/" & strLocalAdminGroup)
    member = "WinNT://" & remAdmins(i)
    if grp.Ismember(member) = True then
    'write to log file
    Dim filesys, filetxt, getname, path
    Set filesys = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    Set filetxt = filesys.OpenTextFile("\\servername\foldername\admins.log", 8, True)
    Set WshNetwork = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Network")

path = filesys.GetAbsolutePathName("\\servername\foldername\admins.log")
    getname = filesys.GetFileName(path)
    filetxt.WriteLine("Username: " & WshNetwork.UserName + " - Computer Name: " & WshNetwork.ComputerName)
    filetxt.Close