Recently installed 120GB Intel SSD as boot drive, not sure Win 7 sees it as SSD RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I recently installed an Intel 120 GB SSD as my boot drive, Win 7 Ult. I used intel's disk cloning utility written by Acronis for the migration and I would assume the settings for the HDD's came across during the clone.

I see in system tools that my SSD (C drive) is still coming up in the defrag app. Does this mean that windows doesn't see it as an SSD. Hi do I go about making Windows use my SSD as an SSD and not a spinning drive.

I have limited experience working with and editing the registry. I assemble this computer myself, but haven't ever had to work inside the registry so details directions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob

Thursday, December 8, 2011 1:33 PM

Answers

• The only way to resolve this is to do a clean install of Windows 7 on the SSD.  Cloning from a hard drive to an SSD is simply that - a clone.  It does not make Windows 7 configure itself for the SSD.  I doubt you will find a list of registry hacks here to resolve this.  This is a hardware inflicted problem and not something caused by Microsoft.

The OCZ forum has a thread about tweaks in Vista @ http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?47212-Vista-32-64-SSD-Windows-Registry-tweaks  These may or may not help.  I suggest you do some serious of the internet for additional information.

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. ”
    • Marked as answer by Niki Han Friday, December 16, 2011 8:40 AM
    Thursday, December 8, 2011 8:51 PM

All replies