Outlook\Exchange 2010 Account Delegation and setting Permissions - Multiple delegates, folders and subfolders RRS feed

• Question

• Outlook\Exchange 2010 Account Delegation and setting Permissions

Background:

I’m new to Outlook and Exchange. We are in the initial stages of migrating users from Lotus Notes and Domino to Outlook and Exchange 2010. We are attempting to determine the best method for granting delegate access to a shared email account, calendar, folders and subfolders for multiple different users with varying permission needs.

We’ve determined configurations necessary to delegate an account (manager account) so people (Delegates) can act ‘on behalf of’ Manager.

The issue we have is with setting specific permissions on all the individual folders that some accounts contain. The only way we have found so far is to add permissions to each folder and subfolder that the manager wants to delegate. In some cases this wouldn’t be that big a deal, however, in other cases where an account has 100’s of folders containing subfolders requiring multiple delegates with varying permission requirements, this seems very unreasonable.

I’ve searched for days to find a better method for assigning permissions, but have not uncovered anything to date. We could grant delegates ‘Full access control’ in EMC, but this doesn’t appear to allow for granular permission control and it would allow delegates to ‘Send as’ rather than ‘on behalf of’ the Delegator.

Does anyone know of any alternative processes, Powershell scripts, or Outlook Add-ins, that will simplify this process?