MS Word and Windows 10 problem wiht conversion of cursive to text RRS feed

• Question

• There is an unacceptable latency in the conversion of cursive to text in Word using a pen. I am a writer and expect that the conversion process should be able to follow what I write as fast as I write.

The latency makes this element of the program not useful, actually unacceptable for writers who write in cursive.

I have tried Word on a Surface Book and a Lenovo Yoga 920. Both have the above problems. The problems appears to be in the design of the program.

Additionally, the input panel  blocks out writing so that one can only see a word or two when writing.

I use Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2016 that I purchased through my university.

I have a 10 year old Lenovo X60 that still works. It still has Windows 7.

I tested writing in Word on the X60 with its simple pen.

Input using the pen has no lag. The conversion to text seems immediate. The input screen also allows for all of the input text to be visible. This is of considerable value for writers.

Using Windows 7 one can write in cursive as one would write on paper. Not so in Windows 10.

The input method in Word in Windows 10 is not useful for writers who wish to have their cursive writing transformed to text.

I can use my 10-year old Lenovo with Windows 7 to write. I may just do that.

My concerns may represent a small market for Microsoft. But the problem with the pen entry system in Word in Windows 10 is still a problem.

Thursday, May 2, 2019 6:05 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Thanks for kind feedback here. Currently, I don't have the equipment to test and reproduce your problem.

You can also update your Windows 10 and Office 2016 to have a check. Please make sure you have installed the latest hardware drivers.

if the issue persists, you can post the issue and submit your feedback on Word UserVoice Forum

If you have any updates, feel free to post back to let us know.

Best Regards,

Herb