mapped network drives does not show up as a local drive - windows 10 preview RRS feed

• Question

• fud.community.services.support.microsoft.com/Fud/FileDownloadHandler.ashx?fid=7f6ce733-3cf5-4fcb-a58a-2541b7bc1ca4

Above is an image taken by B. Hefty, the source is here:

answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_tp-files/network-mapped-drives-not-available-on-windows-10/ef955b4b-1103-42db-a00d-cd1520a8e178?tab=question&status=AllReplies&status=AllReplies%2CAllReplies

since this is my first time posting in technet and my account is not verified, i cant post a link or image :(

I've googled alot but no one seems have an answer to this question.

In windows 7 or 8, mapped network drives - such as folders at NAS - showed up as a local drive just like the c drive, so I was able to select the drive from the folder browser.

In windows 10, it seems have been blocked or disabled somehow. As in the image above, mapped drive s: shows up in my computer but does not show up in the folder browser on the left side. I've found some registry related to mapped drive are different in windows 10 compared to 7/8.

This can be a pain in the neck to NAS users.

If someone has the same issue, or knows the answer lets share. 

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 12:42 AM

Answers

All replies

• I'm not seeing that happen here for whatever reason.

The way I tested making one is by right-clicking on Network in the tree. How are you doing it (maybe that matters)?

Are you domain-joined?  I'm not, though I'm not sure if that would matter (just trying to think of potential differences).

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 1:10 AM
  • They seem to show up here okay, rooted in "This PC"...

-Noel

Detailed how-to in my eBooks:  

Configure The Windows 7 "To Work" Options
    Configure The Windows 8 "To Work" Options

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 2:01 AM