none
Force delteing content without export RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I was moving a mailbox from one database to another, Total items are about 1033 and size is 9 MB. but when i move the mailbox it took around 9 hours and didn't finish.

    I saw that there are 17,000 deleted items in owa. after deleting all these stil it take hours but no progress.

    Can i delete all content of mailbox without deleting the user/mailbox?

     

    thanks,

     

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 5:27 AM

Answers

  • i,

    When you deleted the mails from the deleted items you just moved them to the dumpster which will be moved with the mailbox. ou would trherefore need to go into recover deleted items and remove the mails from there as well

    f there is nothing in the mailbox you need the easiest way would be to delete the amilbox and create a new one.

    Leif

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 9:51 AM
  • As mentioned above you could do it that way or as Lefi says, go into the recover deleted items and purge the emails.

    Or tell your users to delete the N2K file and then you delete the mailbox and recreate it.  Then the users wont be referencing the old cache.


    Sukh
    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:41 PM

All replies

  • i,

    When you deleted the mails from the deleted items you just moved them to the dumpster which will be moved with the mailbox. ou would trherefore need to go into recover deleted items and remove the mails from there as well

    f there is nothing in the mailbox you need the easiest way would be to delete the amilbox and create a new one.

    Leif

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 9:51 AM
  • 1. Not sure what exch version youre using but you could implement MRM with content or MailboxManagerPolicy's to delete the items from the deleted items folder permanently.

    2. Setup a Managed Folder Mailbox Policy and assign it to the Managed Default Folders Deleted Items folder.

     


    Sukh
    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 10:40 AM
  • Hi,

     

    If i delete the mailbox it will be there for next 30 days (As per policy) in past i  changed the policy to 0 days, and re-created the mailbox but most of the users were unable to send email to newly created mailbox for exisiting users due to contacts (may be hashed contacts on desktop) whereas the same users can send email through owa at the same movement.

     

    isn't there any other way to empty the mailbox witout exporting. if i export the mailbox it will do the same as i move the mailbox.

     

    Regards,

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:36 PM
  • As mentioned above you could do it that way or as Lefi says, go into the recover deleted items and purge the emails.

    Or tell your users to delete the N2K file and then you delete the mailbox and recreate it.  Then the users wont be referencing the old cache.


    Sukh
    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:41 PM