locked
When users upload file(s) to a library, users with Manage Lists permissions cannot see any files uploaded until the user checks them in. RRS feed

  • Question

  • Proper functionality of posting files to a document library using Content Approval and Versioning Settings.

    A user uploads a file (or multiple files) to a document library. The file status is pending until the user(s) with Manage Lists permissions approves/rejects it using Content Approvals. Both the user (author) and users with Manage Lists permissions within the document library can view the file before it is approved "published" for viewing to all applicable library users.

    Document library settings are (Document Library Name>Settings>Versioning Settings):
    Content Approval - Yes
    Document Version History - Yes (major versions)
    Draft Item Security - Only users who can approve items (and the author of the item)
    Require Check Out - Yes

    Current Issue:
    When users upload file(s) to the PAL, users with Manage Lists permissions cannot see any files uploaded until the user checks them in. Also, users with Manage Lists permissions cannot see "draft" items even once they are checked in (tested with the library having create major and minor (draft) versions setting selected instead of just major versions).

    Please let me know if you need additional information.
    Monday, December 20, 2010 6:23 PM

Answers

  • From what you have described, it appears that the system is functioning as expected.

    When a user uploads a document, if "Require Check Out" is active, SharePoint will checkout the document for them automatically.  This is similar to a user creating a new document in the library.  Nobody, not even approvers, can see the document until it is checked in.

    Approvers can NEVER see content that is NOT checked in!

    This is the function of check out and check in.  It is a way for a user to work on a document in private until such time they are ready to share the document with others.  When they then check it in, it moves to the next level of approval.

    Upon check in, if "Content Approval" is turned on, NOW Approvers as well as the Author can see the document.  Normal users cannot see the document until it is approved.

    This has a more detailed explanation:

    http://www.cjvandyk.com/blog/Lists/Posts/Post.aspx?ID=310

     


    I trust that answers your question...

    Thanks
    C

    http://www.cjvandyk.com/blog
    • Marked as answer by Leoyi Sun Thursday, January 6, 2011 8:57 AM
    Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:56 PM
    Answerer

All replies

  • From what you have described, it appears that the system is functioning as expected.

    When a user uploads a document, if "Require Check Out" is active, SharePoint will checkout the document for them automatically.  This is similar to a user creating a new document in the library.  Nobody, not even approvers, can see the document until it is checked in.

    Approvers can NEVER see content that is NOT checked in!

    This is the function of check out and check in.  It is a way for a user to work on a document in private until such time they are ready to share the document with others.  When they then check it in, it moves to the next level of approval.

    Upon check in, if "Content Approval" is turned on, NOW Approvers as well as the Author can see the document.  Normal users cannot see the document until it is approved.

    This has a more detailed explanation:

    http://www.cjvandyk.com/blog/Lists/Posts/Post.aspx?ID=310

     


    I trust that answers your question...

    Thanks
    C

    http://www.cjvandyk.com/blog
    • Marked as answer by Leoyi Sun Thursday, January 6, 2011 8:57 AM
    Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:56 PM
    Answerer
  • So as stated the current condition:

    "When users upload file(s) to the PAL, users with Manage Lists permissions cannot see any files uploaded until the user checks them in. Also, users with Manage Lists permissions cannot see "draft" items even once they are checked in (tested with the library having create major and minor (draft) versions setting selected instead of just major versions)."

     

    Is working as expected?  My end user seems to think that as the site owner she should be able to see all documents uploaded even when their not checked in.

    Tuesday, January 4, 2011 3:31 PM