locked
User deleted from Site Collection reappears after site restore in Designer RRS feed

  • Question

  • Here's what is happening to us in our MOSS 2007 environment:

    • Delete user from Site Collection
    • Do a Site backup / restore in Designer
    • User shows back up in Site Collection

    The site we are backing up and restoring is a template with no users in it.  I know that the Designer backup / restore process picks up all the users and groups, so we try to do a backup of the Template right before we do a restore to prevent old ACLs being restored by  mistake. 

    We kept wondering why people we've deleted from the site collection keep reappearing.  It does not make sense to me why a user deleted from the site colletcion would be recreated by a site restore in Designer, especially if a backup was done after the user was deleted from the site collection.

    Has this happened to anyone else?

    -Richard.

    Thursday, May 12, 2011 3:47 PM

Answers

All replies

  • Hi Richard,

     

    From your narration, you deleted a user from a site collection, then used SharePoint Designer(SPD) to back up the site, next restored the backup site, you found that the user which had been deleted came back.

     

    Did you create a blank site (in the same language as the site you backed up) before restore the backup? If not, please create a blank site, then restore it again, check the effect.

     

    We can make a backup of the sites that have under 25 MB. Does the size of your site meet this requirement?

     

    For SPD 2007,  the backup file that you create includes list or library content, security settings, user information, navigation, customizations, and personalizations (such as views, site templates, and content types). The backup file does not include workflows, alerts, and properties stored at the site collection level.

     

    From your post, you mentioned you delete the user at site collection level, so we recommend that you use STSADM to back up and restore site collection or sites, The backup contains library content, list content, navigation, user information, security settings, personalize settings like views and content types and customization but does not contain alerts, workflows and properties. 

     

    http://farhanfaiz.wordpress.com/2008/02/07/mossback-up-and-restore-site-collection-sites-using-stsadm-utility-export-import/

     

    For more information about backing up, restore, or move a SharePoint site, please check the following articles:

     

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint-designer-help/back-up-restore-or-move-a-sharepoint-site-HA010069939.aspx

     

    http://blog.sharepoint-recovery.com/2008/03/05/backing-up-with-sharepoint-designer-be-aware-of-impact-on-the-site-size/

     

    Thanks,

    Rock Wang

    TechNet Subscriber Support in forum

    If you have any feedback on our support, please contact tngfb@microsoft.com


    Regards, Rock Wang Microsoft Online Community Support
    • Marked as answer by Wayne Fan Wednesday, June 1, 2011 3:02 AM
    Friday, May 13, 2011 3:36 AM
  • Hi Richard,

     

    Did you have any questions, if anything is unclear, please feel free to reply to the forum.

     

    Thanks,

    Rock Wang

    TechNet Subscriber Support in forum

    If you have any feedback on our support, please contact tngfb@microsoft.com


    Regards, Rock Wang Microsoft Online Community Support
    Monday, May 16, 2011 2:31 AM