none
Mapping default printer based on AD attribute RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all ! 

Sorry for my english, i'll try to be clear... :)

I need to run a VBscript on TSE 2008 R2 servers to set computer's default printer (not user). For this, I need to use the ClientName var. 

The default printer name is written in the computer's description attribute in Active Directory. 

I'm a beginner in VBscripting. I have parts of scripts working, but not everything.

Here is my script (my comments are written with ''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''): 

'find clientname

strComputer = "."
    Const ForAppending = 8
    Set oNetwork = wscript.CreateObject("wscript.network") 'Create network object
    Set objShell = Wscript.CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
    Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")
    Set colAdapters = objWMIService.ExecQuery ("Select * from Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration Where IPEnabled = True")
    strUserName  = oNetwork.userName
    strComputerName  = oNetwork.computerName
    strClientName = objShell.ExpandEnvironmentStrings("%clientname%")

ExecuteSearch = SearchDistinguishedName(strClientName)
    Public Function SearchDistinguishedName(ByVal vSAN)
    Const ADS_SCOPE_SUBTREE = 2
        Dim oRootDSE, oConnection, oCommand, oRecordSet
        Set oRootDSE = GetObject("LDAP://rootDSE")
        Set oConnection = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
        oConnection.Open "Provider=ADsDSOObject;"
        Set objCommand = CreateObject("ADODB.Command")
        objCommand.ActiveConnection = oConnection
    ldstring = "'LDAP://" & oRootDSE.get("defaultNamingContext") & "'" 
    objCommand.CommandText = "Select Name, distinguishedName from "& ldstring & " where objectClass='computer'"  
    objCommand.Properties("Page Size") = 1000
    objCommand.Properties("Timeout") = 30 
    objCommand.Properties("Searchscope") = ADS_SCOPE_SUBTREE