none
How to identify who login my server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. I am an administrator of Windows server 2012 R2 Standard (64bit).

My server is joined to domain that is administrated by Domain Controller Server administrator. There are several users in the domain, and they can login to my server. 

I am looking for the way how I can track who logged in my server and when without asking DC admin. I guess login/logout tracking records are also recorded somewhere on event log of my server, but I am not sure how I can get those information. I would like to know user name and login / logout time.

Any advice will be gratefully appreciated. Thank you.

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 6:06 AM

All replies

• Hello KELLY_IRVINE

Just please open Event Viewer go to Windows Logs and then choose Security tab to see all of logins that is happened in your domain environment.

Hamid Sadeghpour Saleh Microsoft MCT Regional Lead

hamidsadeghpour.net

Mark it as answer if your question has solved in order to keep forums updated.

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 6:25 AM
  • Hi, Hamid. Thank you for the response.

Can I ask few more question on logon record of security event log?

(1)

There are a lot of logs on security event log on my server, so I tried to filtered by 'Logon' on Task Category, but when I open the filter current log window, the task category is greyed out as below. I can't type there. I don't know why.. Is there any better way to filter showed up only logon event?

(2)

Is there any way to filter by domain account name? As test, I typed my domain account name in the column User in the Filter Current Log windows, but nothing showed up...

Thursday, July 18, 2019 12:58 AM
  • Hello Kelly,

1) The "Task category" is only available once you've already selected one "Event source".

Note: You can only have one "Event source" selected, or the "Task category" gets disabled again.

2)
    You can filter by account name, you can see here for more information: