none
Offsite Tape backup strategy for DPM2010 RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings experts,

I have been tasked with coming up with a backup strategy for offsite tapes. Unfortunately I am new to DPM. I have spent most of the morning reading some of the other posts in the DPM section and am not quite sure I fully understand how DPM actually works.

DPM will be used for a D-D-T setup. We will be making Weekly(each Saturday) and Monthly(1st day of month) tape backups for Offsite storage.

We have 6 PGs with around 8.3TB (currently) of data to back up.

Colocation is active. We are using LTO4 tapes (800/1.6) and have a HP Storageworks 2024 Tape backup system (23 tapes and 1 cleaner).

I am used to a system that just backs up until the tape is full and then continues on the next tape. You pull those, replace em, and move on.

After reading the posts here though, I get the impression that this is not the way it happens with DPM and Colocation and even when the Weekly is done, I won't know which all tapes were used since they won't be marked ready for offsite until one of the Datasets is expired or the write-period ratio has been crossed.

I read you can pull them without them being offsite ready but I don't want to have to search 23 tapes every Monday to see where it put everything. I also read that you cannot set a specific tape/s for a PG to back up to.

Is there a common strategy that people use for offsite tape backup with colocation running??

Or would it be easier to just put in the minimum amount of tapes (6 in this case - 1.6TB x 6tapes = 9.6TB of storage to cover my 8.3) and never have more than 6 tapes in the library so it is forced to fit all the data on those 6 tapes?

Any help with this would be very much appreciated.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012 8:25 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Actually, setting the WritePeriodRatio value to a "higher value" like 1 prevents the tape from being marked offsite ready until basically the 1st backup set expires.