none
How can i show the day number and hour when a task started/stopped RRS feed

• Question

• Hello! I'm new to Microsoft Project and I have a question:

I want a column which shows for a task: 

The Day Number when it started + Hour - The Day Number when it stopped it stopped + Hour 

Something like this:

Action 1                 Day 1 Hour 7 - Day 1 Hour 8
    Action 2                 Day 1 Hour 8 - Day 1 Hour 9

I am aware of this topic:
    https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/projectserver/en-US/c538df57-bccf-4851-a3ac-2b5860f26d99/counting-the-number-of-days-since-project-kick-off-for-each-task?forum=projectprofessional2010general

and this blog post:
    https://applepark.co.uk/displaying-the-day-count-for-a-task/

But I can't seem to create the complete formula in a single column. I dont know how to concatenate string, how to write the formula for generating the last day and so on.

Please, I am grateful for any advice.

And another question: where could I find some good resourse to learn about Microsoft Project and formulas?    

• Edited by Andrewx21 Saturday, March 30, 2019 12:14 PM
    Saturday, March 30, 2019 11:10 AM

Answers

All replies

• Andrewx21,

This formula should work for you (in a text field):

"Day " & (DateDiff("d",[Project Start],[Start])+1) & " Hour " & Hour([Start]) & " - " & "Day " & (DateDiff("d",[Project Start],[Finish])+1) & " Hour " & Hour([Finish])

As you see, the ampersand ("&") is the string concatenation operator.

Re. your quest for learning resources, you've found one of the right spots.  Here are some more links:

Microsoft Community

Microsoft Project Users Group.org

Project MVPs References (OLD)

Ismet's E-Book on Project Formulas

Good luck, tom
    • Edited by Tom BoyleBPC Saturday, March 30, 2019 1:58 PM
    • Marked as answer by Andrewx21 Saturday, March 30, 2019 2:10 PM
    Saturday, March 30, 2019 1:58 PM
  • Thank you. It's working. 

I will check the resources you posted. Thanks again.