Really Dissapointed with Vista RRS feed

• Question

• I am absolutely stunned at the fact that there is no access to Local Users and Groups in Vista Home Premium! I am a Network Professional in charge of 20 servers and 700 desktops and sadly I have purchased a Sony Vaio with this operating system on it. I use Microsoft Outlook (full vrsion not web) from home on to my organisations Exchange Server and one of the tricks of the trade to save you constantly having to give your password is to name your workgroup the same as your domain and then set your username and password the same as your domain account - no chance with Vista!!!!!!! Microsoft you have really missed the boat here - so much so that I am installing 80 new PC's in the summer and all with have XP on them, because quite frankly Vista from a Network Manager;s viewpoint stinks. Try browsing a network with Vista  ( surprise Microsoft - us network guys use shares all over the shop) and it takes over 5 minutes to come up with all of your network computers - XP is virtually instant!!!  What is going on?  I suspect I am not alone and you deserve the crticism you are getting over Vista. I am now going to see if my new Sony Vaio still supports XP and will reload that operating system as it works. I really cannot believe how bad Vista is and I routinely recommend my staff to stear clear of it.

Also before you think I am an Apple fan, my network is 100% Microsoft with a full  Select agreement for all of your Office, Workstaion and Desktop software

Truly dissapointed with a poor product

Steve Dunlin

Network Manager

Saturday, May 3, 2008 7:47 PM

Answers

• Hi Steve,

First of all, please understand that Windows Vista Home Premium is designed for home user rather than enterprise user. Thus, I recommend that you choose Ultimate, Business or Enterprise Edition in business environment. For more information, please refer to the following link:

Windows Vista Editions Overview