none
Question about recovering data using DPM 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I am new to technet and DPM client 2010, just a quick question :)

I have a Win7 Professional PC with a DPM 2010 client installed on the computer. I am currently having system protection disabled at the moment (I am running out of space on my computer and slowly sorting stuff out so that I can get some free space). My DPM server back up data from my computer twice a day, 10am and 6pm.

When I wanted to recover one of the files from the DPM manager, I saw this message (circled in Red below)

I understand after I click on the magnifying glass, click on the recovery point link OPEN... and browse toC-VOL>Users>My Profile name>Desktop etc, I can copy the files and folder I would like to recover onto my Desktop.

I was wondering if there is also another way to recover files using the DPM 2010 client (please refer to the above image, the part circled in red). Can anyone share what the above message means and how it is related to using DPM 2010 to recover data? Just curious, thank you!

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 1:31 AM

All replies

• What you circled in red is a method to restore previous version of data.

This method is based on the shadow copies also used by DPM. That's why you can restore data from DPM using that method (right-click a file/folder and select recover previous versions".

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 2:45 AM
  • Thank you for your reply, can I clarify with you, 

Being new to DPM client 2010, from what I understand, each time when a sync happened between a DPM client and server, it backs up data to the DPM server. I noticed there is a Recovery Point schedule on the DPM client, will this function create a previous version of files and folders on the local computer or on the DPM server? Please correct me if I am wrong here :)