Asset Intelligence - User Logon Information : More specifics needed RRS feed

• Question

• All -
         Question around the  SCCM 2007 "AI User Logon Information" feature. What level of detail is available?
    My scenario would involve the following :
    1. x number of WinXP machines in a computer lab. All joined to an Active Directory.
    2. Student users, with Active Directory accounts logon to these machines over the course of a semester.
    3. Need to be able to collect at least the following information, on a per machine basis  :
        1.   Workstation object name.
        2.  User accounts that have been used to logon to this machine.
        3. Must be able to collect information / logs over 4 month period (i.e. need historical reporting).

An additional level of detail that I'd like to be able to see would be per user length of session - basically how long were they logged onto the machine?

Apologies if these are over simplistic questions - I'm a novice wrt SCCM and this is a "pre-implementation" type question.

Thanks Much!
    Chris

Tuesday, June 16, 2009 8:57 PM

Answers

• Well, console user reports are not able to do precisely that.  The routine that runs on the client (from what I can tell in log files) pretty much counts specific things, like username, last login time, and calculates a total time, and number of sessions for I think the last 180 days?  maybe it was last 90 days(?)  Anyway, the exact start/stop time and length of each individual session I don't think is reported.

1.  Workstation name:  Yes.  Default report.  Or you'd make a custom report and join in the v_r_system view to get the computer's netbios_name
    2.  User accounts that have been used to logon to this machine:  Yes.  Default report.  fyi, you might be interested in a hardware inventory extension to sms_def.mof/configuration.mof to pull in every profile, regardless of last use time.  maybe not.