WSS 3.0 - Moving Database files (same server, different disks) RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings all,

We have a WSS 3.0 server that was (as I learned when I inherited it) installed using the Windows Internal Database (##SSEE) and the default c: data location.  As part of our Sharepoint performance tuning, and to allow expansion, I’m planning to move the databases from the default location to a new D: drive on the same (virtual) server.  I was able to find the following page that went through how to do it from the command line:

http://www.wssdemo.com/Pages/db.aspx

Since this is a Highly Visible internal site, and I am a n00b Sharepoint admin, I'm looking for validation/a reality check on my process. 

I also have SQL Management Studio Express working on the server.  If I can do portions from Mgmt Studio Express instead of the command line, I’d prefer to – less possibility for typos.    I was able to shrink the DB logs for the first time ever using the GUI once I learned the Named Pipes string for accessing Windows Internal Database – since I’m not an experienced DBA, I was very pleased by the results and didn’t have to chase down the SQLCMD tools (which have since been installed).   

These are the steps I have based on my research:

a)      Use WSS admin to mark the Content database OFFLINE (in Application Management) – we only have one content database

b)      Stop all the Sharepoint services (is there a particular order?)

c)       Stop all the IIS services

d)      Detach the four Sharepoint databases either by running SQLCMD and then the EXEC SP_detach_db command  e.g.

EXEC sp_detach_db @dbname = 'WSS_Content'
    Go

or via Mgmt Studio Express  – should this be restricted to single-user first?

e)      Copy the files from C: to D:\DATA

f)       Attach the databases with the attach command in Mgmt Studio Express or with EXEC sp_attach_db   (sample syntax: