Installing vista problems. Will not let me install on my SATA HDD RRS feed

• Question

• Well this is my first build and I got to the point of installing Vista with little problem.  However I have come to a stopping point.  When I get to the part in Vista installation where it asks you where you want to install, I choose my hard drive then after a few minutes it says it can not be installed without the drivers.  The mother board manual says there should not be any driver problems unless I am trying to use RAID but all that is disabled BIOS. I can also see the hard drive in BIOS.   Does anyone know what the problem could be?    Here is my current system:

Track   1    GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Track  1  Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250310AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Track  1  AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Black Edition Processor Model  

Track  1  Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Track  1  Antec earthwatts EA500 ATX12V v2.0 500W Power Supply - Retail

Track  1  ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model DRW-2014L1T - Retail

Track  1  Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
    Friday, December 14, 2007 3:43 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I would like to suggest checking the BIOS settings. Make sure the hard drive were listed in BIOS's bootable devices.

Also you may like to rebuild BCD store with following steps:

Note: Please ensure that the DVD-ROM is the first booting device.

1. When prompted to press a key to boot from the CD or DVD, please press Enter or the space bar.
    2. Click "Next" and click "Repair your computer".
    3. Highlight the item related to Windows Vista and click "Next".
    4. In the dialog-box titled "System Recovery Options", click "Command Prompt" and type in the following command.

BOOTREC /REBUILDBCD