Word Templates RRS feed

• Question

• Can anybody point me in the right direction for adding Word Templates to Sharepoint document libary

I have a added a template to the libary if i open as read only i cannot add any thing to the template, if i open it in edit mode then i can add things however the template is then saved to what has been added.

I am sure i am doing something wrong and i am new to sharepoint.

Thank you

John

Wednesday, September 1, 2010 11:25 AM

Answers

• Go to the Library Settings page from here you can edit the default template for the library. You can also create a new content type that has a separate template and add the ctype to the library.

Scot

Wednesday, September 1, 2010 11:38 AM
  • I'd go with the content type approach as suggested by Scot

go to site settings.

under galleries select "site content type".

create a new content type -select document as parent type and select to save as Custom Content types.

in the advanced settings for the content type - upload your template here.

Now go back to your new document library.

in the advanced settings check "yes" to "allow management of content types"

then in the library settings there is an option to select from existing content types.

select the new custom content type you created earlier.

this should allow you to select new <content type> from the new document option in the ribbon.

this should do the trick.

regards,

Counie

Monday, September 6, 2010 3:23 PM

All replies

• Go to the Library Settings page from here you can edit the default template for the library. You can also create a new content type that has a separate template and add the ctype to the library.

Scot

Wednesday, September 1, 2010 11:38 AM
  • Hi Scot

Thanks for replying but i am still at a loss i dont think that i am really understanding the whole content types thing here,

I did what you said i added the Template to the documnet libary but i am still unable to enter the informatioin into the fields.