Powershell :MDT cmdlet doesn't seem to work properly when invoked as background job or maybe it's me ?? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi every one, i'm a powershell beginner and need some help to see if i understand background-job correctly. 

I'm actually writing a powershell UI to import WIM images to MDT 2013. (I'm working on a Windows 8.1 workstation). because Operating system importation take a while, i decided to do the import as a background task to avoid UI freezing.

If i run the import in the current session with the following code :

$Global:DeploySharePath = "D:\[ISO]\WINDOWS81\Deploy"
    $WimDestPath = "D:\install.wim"
    $DestFolder = "Teste-Folder"

Import-Module "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Deployment Toolkit\bin\MicrosoftDeploymentToolkit.psd1"
    Restore-MDTPersistentDrive
    Import-MDToperatingsystem -path "DS001:\Operating Systems" -SourceFile $WimDestPath -DestinationFolder $DestFolder -Verbose

it works as expected and import correctly the new OS to MDT.

But if i try the same as a background job, it works partially : the WIM image is imported to MDT, but some MDT information are not updated and the new OS does not show up in the MDT MMC (but files are moved to the deployment share).

Here is what i wrote to launch the import as a background job, could someone please tell if there's something wrong in my code, or if the MDT cmdlet is broken in some way when used in a background job ?

$Global:DeploySharePath = "D:\[ISO]\WINDOWS81\Deploy"

$job = start-job -InitializationScript {Import-Module "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Deployment Toolkit\bin\MicrosoftDeploymentToolkit.psd1"} -Name MDTImport -ArgumentList $WimDestPath, $DestFolder, $Global:DeploySharePath –ScriptBlock {

Param($WimDestPath, $DestFolder, $Global:DeploySharePath)
    	Restore-MDTPersistentDrive
    	Import-MDToperatingsystem -path "DS001:\Operating Systems" -SourceFile $WimDestPath -DestinationFolder $DestFolder -Verbose

}

# Loop while there are running jobs