none
Why are schedules not running? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm evaluating DPM System Center 2012R2 and have two simple protection groups, both include only local disks (volumes), one goes to a (local) disk repository, the other to a VTL.

Both are "full + incremental", with fulls on saturday and incrementals daily, sync (for the disk respository) 3 times per day.

Both protection groups run successfully when I manually create a recovery point.

There are scheduled jobs displayed for both, but neither run.  I've tried "resume backups" for both disk, tape, at all level, but the scheduled jobs never run.  I've rebooted, restarted DPM services - same thing.  This has been going on for at least a week, over a weekend.

What am I doing wrong?  Running scheduled backup jobs is so basic - but there's no errors, nothing in event log - I cannot find any clues. 

Thanks for any suggestions or pointers since I'm new to DPM.

Friday, November 22, 2013 2:02 PM

All replies

• Well, what are you 'resuming' backups on? Just the area in the protection group area, or on a warning from the monitoring area?

Are you getting any warnings, or critical errors at all in the monitoring area? If you are not getting any warnings, or critical errors on the jobs -- 

What is your SQL server configuration? Local, or remote?

If it is a remote SQL server, did you run the remote sql prep from your installation media?

If you can manually run a job, but scheduled jobs are not running - it sounds like you have a SQL issue.

Either the job scheduler is failing, or the triggerjob.exe doesn't have access to the resources it needs.

Can you verify that jobs are listed under the SQL Server Agent, and view a few job history to see what is going on. Also, those jobs are not friendly at all, and will see them all listed as 1c0cdc51-8321-4bf7-a5e5-f451b68233a7 etc --

• Proposed as answer by Gabriel Roa Tuesday, January 26, 2016 10:46 PM
    Friday, November 22, 2013 4:28 PM