none
List Sales Totals for all Sales Regions (via the Territories table using 4 joins) with a Sales Total greater than 1,000,000. Use rounding or FORMAT to present the numbers? RRS feed

• Question

• Using the Northwind Database I need to run a query that list Sales Totals for all Sales Regions via the Territories table using 4 joins with a sales Total greater than 1,000,000. I am new to SQL and this is what I think the query would look like but I am not sure if I am using the right data and tables or joining them correctly. Can someone just help me and tell me the fields I need and how I should be joining them to get the right result.

SELECT SUM(od.Quantity * od.UnitPrice) total_sales FROM [Order Details] od
    INNER JOIN Orders o ON o.orderID = od.orderID
    INNER JOIN EmployeeTerritories et ON et.employeeID=od.employeeID
    INNER JOIN Regions t ON t.regionID = et.regionID
    INNER JOIN Territories t ON t.regionID = r.regionID

UPDATE

This is the new query i have written however i think this needs to display the region name and i am only getting a total without region names.

SELECT ROUND(SUM(od.Quantity * od.UnitPrice),2) total_sales FROM [Order Details] od
    INNER JOIN Territories t ON t.RegionID = t.RegionID
    INNER JOIN Region r ON r.RegionDescription = r.RegionDescription
    HAVING ROUND(SUM(od.Quantity * od.UnitPrice),2) >100000

• Edited by JayJ12 Sunday, November 17, 2019 1:39 PM UPDATED query
    Saturday, November 16, 2019 7:14 PM

All replies

• >>Using the Northwind Database I need to run a query that list Sales Totals for all Sales Regions via the Territories >>>table using 4 joins with a sales Total greater than 1,000,000

If you need only total for all regions so  and do not need additional columns the try the below

SELECT total_sales 

FROM

(

SELECT SUM(od.Quantity * od.UnitPrice) total_sales FROM [Order Details] od

) WHERE total >1000000

Best Regards,Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP, http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/