Windows 7 Freeze At Login Screen Leads to Unrecognized Hard Drive RRS feed

• Question

• I've been an amateur system builder for my own gaming and professional computers for the last ten years or so, but have very recently run into a series of problems which have left me scratching my head!

I left a guest account available for my mom this weekend on my self-built desktop with OEM Windows 7 Professional (64-bit). When I returned, a series of odd errors begun, and have not stopped. Hopefully someone here can help. I am attempting to collect data on what my mom did while I was gone, but it may be incomplete.

The problems seem to be centered around my lovely Transcend SSD320 256 GB solid state drive containing my windows 7 boot partition.

First, it hung on a black screen when starting up, with the pointer in the center. Had to physically restart with power button.

Next it booted quickly (yay SSD!) to the login screen. At the login screen, I attempted to type my password, at which time the entire screen hard froze. Had to physically restart with power button.

When restarted manually again, windows attempted to do a system repair, but could not perform one automatically. Consequently I attempted to do a system restore to my most recent backup on my second drive. This could not be completed due to error 0x80071a90, which is the "corrupted system restore point" error, as far as I can tell. At this point, I read that for some people, system restore worked and so one should attempt to restart into safemode and check it out. Restarted within system repair dialogue.

At this point it became even stranger. My SSD wasn't even recognized as a boot device. It was not listed as a device to boot from when checked in the BIOS.