none
There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper

Question

• Hey Guys,

This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping I can come to a good resolve to my issue.
    I'm running SBS 2003 and I cannot connect clients to the domain because of an endpoint mapper error.

Event Viewer shows the error below:

Windows cannot determine the user or computer name. (There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper. ). Group Policy processing aborted. 

I've used this article to troubleshoot the error: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=839880

I've come to find that I get this when using the portqry tool:
    Attempting to resolve name to IP address...

Name resolved to 192.168.1.10

TCP port 1094 (unknown service): NOT LISTENING

TCP port 1025 (unknown service): NOT LISTENING

TCP port 1029 (unknown service): NOT LISTENING

TCP port 6004 (unknown service): LISTENING

I've disabled the firewall and anti-virus to see if I can get the ports to listen again as I think this might be my issue.

If there is anything else I can try, please let me know! This little issue is killing me.

I've been searching all over for a resolve to this, but I haven't found anything helpful.

Thanks!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 4:15 PM

Answers

• I actually was able to figure out what the issue was.

Solution was to change the login on the RPC service to local username instead of a different user.

Once I changed that, I bounced the server and then came a clean event viewer and everyone could log on to the domain without issue and PC's could also join the domain without issue.

Thank you very much for your reply though. I didn't know about the SBS best practices analyzer. I will remember this in the future.

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:40 PM

All replies

• Let's back up a bit --

1. When did this issue first appear? Were there any changes (updates? patches?) applied to the server around that time?

2. Have you run SBS 2003 best practices analyzer?