none
Script to Loop through each DB RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm not very good with scripting loops.

I want to loop through each database and check the LogFile Size and Free Space on Log File.

If it meets these conditions I want to truncate.

If @logsize >= 20000 -- and @logspace >= 80  
    set @SQL = 'use'  + [Database_Name]  +  'dbcc shrinkfile ([LogFileName], 20000, TRUNCATEONLY) WITH NO_INFOMSGS'
    exec (@SQL)

Please help

Friday, July 10, 2020 3:06 PM

Answers

• h Veena,

If you run the Log Backup frequently, the Log file will not fill up unless you have long running Open Transaction query. The Open/Active transaction will prevent any Shrink option as well.

It is advisable to run Database Log Backup every hours or less based on your database usage for any database which is in Full or Bulked Log recovery mode. . This will solve your problem.

Tuesday, July 14, 2020 6:59 PM

All replies

• Hi Veena,

Can you look at this blog post for the general idea of how to loop through databases:

https://blogs.lessthandot.com/index.php/datamgmt/datadesign/how-to-get-information-about-all-databas/

You can apply ideas from that blog article for your problem easily.

For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert. - Becker's Law

My blog

My TechNet articles

Friday, July 10, 2020 3:22 PM
  • The issue I face is :

We have about 50 databases on the SQL Instance, all in Simple Recovery model.

However from time to time, there is lot of activity in the databases and the Log Files suddenly balloons and fills up the Log drive.

I thought I could run a script maybe twice a day to check the Log File Size for all databases, and if they meet

a certain criteria then Release Space.

Can anyone help with this please?

If @logsize >= 20000 -- and @logspace >= 80  
    set @SQL = 'use'  + [Database_Name]  +  'dbcc shrinkfile ([LogFileName], 20000, TRUNCATEONLY) WITH NO_INFOMSGS'
    exec (@SQL)

Friday, July 10, 2020 5:43 PM