Split one CSV into multiple RRS feed

• Question

• Hello! I am pretty new to Powershell, but am off to a good start!

I've tried to find an answer to this online but haven't come up with anything yet. 

I have a CSV file with about 3000 rows. In one of the Row's (the 5th), it has a building code. 

I want to split this CSV file up into multiple CSV files based on the building code. Meaning, I want the new CSV files to only contain the rows that have the same building code in column 5.

I am guessing I'd create an array with the school code (without adding it into the array if it's already there), then using the export-csv command, but I am not sure exactly how to piece it all together. Any help would be appreciated!

Monday, August 20, 2018 6:34 PM

Answers

• Do you mean "in one of the columns" is a building code.

A CSV has named columns.  JUst roup the CSV o  that column.

Import-Csv file.csv |
         Group-Object BuildingCode |
         ForEach-Object{ $_.Group| Export-CSv $_.Name.Csv }

\_(ツ)_/

• Proposed as answer by jrv Monday, August 20, 2018 8:16 PM
    • Edited by jrv Monday, August 20, 2018 8:16 PM
    • Marked as answer by hellbus Monday, August 20, 2018 11:06 PM
    Monday, August 20, 2018 7:24 PM

All replies

• Do you mean "in one of the columns" is a building code.

A CSV has named columns.  JUst roup the CSV o  that column.

Import-Csv file.csv |
         ForEach-Object{ $_.Group| Export-CSv $_.Name.Csv }

\_(ツ)_/

• Proposed as answer by jrv Monday, August 20, 2018 8:16 PM
    • Edited by jrv Monday, August 20, 2018 8:16 PM
    • Marked as answer by hellbus Monday, August 20, 2018 11:06 PM
    Monday, August 20, 2018 7:24 PM
  • Import the csv file using Import-Csv, pipe to Group-Object and group by the column 5 header, pipe to Foreach-Object and export each group to its own file using Export-Csv.
    Monday, August 20, 2018 7:25 PM
  • Import-Csv C:\temp\file.csv | 
        ForEach-Object {