In need of a Powershell script to move students from an OU to another OU RRS feed

• Question

• Good Day Everyone,

I was tasked to move students from the Students OU to Full Time / Part Time OU. I can possibly get this done in a short time BUT since I am a newbie, I would like to know what would be the best approach for me to get this done. 

Details

1. There are about 1700 students

2. Import Students from an CSV file to be moved [fulltimestudents.csv AND parttimestudents.csv]

3. After importing the students > move them to the fulltime or parttime OU

Any suggestions before I start this and thank you all for your help.

AM

Adrian Mohamed

Friday, October 17, 2014 12:32 PM

Answers

• Good Morning JRV + All,

Here is a working code that I am now using for the move - any ideas on how to clean it up + maybe w/ comments would be much appreciated.

remove-variable * -force

Remove-Item -Path C:\temp\out.txt -Force

$FULLTIMEOU='OU=Full Time,OU=Undergraduate,OU=Students,OU=Users,OU=LIM Objects,DC=limcollege,DC=edu'

$PARTTIMEOU='OU=Part Time,OU=Undergraduate,OU=Students,OU=Users,OU=LIM Objects,DC=limcollege,DC=edu'

clear

# Import users from Carolyn’s CSV file [separate files for Full Time + Part Time]

$user = ipcsv -path C:\temp\test2.csv

# Get all students distinguished names > output them into a single file

# Output to a txt gives us a paper trail of the actual students being moved

foreach ($users in $user)

{

(Get-ADUser $users.name).distinguishedname | Out-File C:\temp\out.txt -Append

}

# Wait until the above transactions are complete

Start-Sleep -s 2

# Import the distinguished names > make the move to new OU

$name = Get-Content -Path C:\temp\out.txt

# Reiterate through the student names and perform the move

foreach ($names in $name)

{

Move-AdObject -Identity $names -TargetPath $FULLTIMEOU

}

Adrian Mohamed

• Marked as answer by Adrian Mohamed Tuesday, October 21, 2014 5:06 PM
    Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:38 PM

All replies