none
Hey Scripting Guy! How can I separate variable output to another variable. RRS feed

• Question

• Really hope I can make this make sense. I am very new to scripting so I am sure I am missing something easy.

I am working on a script to change the passwords of multiple users in an OU. These passwords will be the same as the username with a set of characters appended to it. (I know this is is not a good idea, but it is what management wants no matter how much I advise against it) 

Here is what I have so far...

$Password = get-aduser -filter * -SearchBase "ou=1,ou=2, ou=3, dc=example, dc=com" | select -ExpandProperty samaccountname

$Passwords=$Password.toLower()

$Users = get-aduser -filter * -SearchBase "ou=1,ou=2, ou=3, dc=example, dc=com" | select -ExpandProperty DistinguishedName

Set-ADDefaultDomainPasswordPolicy -Identity example.com -ComplexityEnabled 0

foreach ($User in $Users) {

dsmod user $User -pwd $Passwords"q3"

}

Set-ADDefaultDomainPasswordPolicy -Identity cefco.com -ComplexityEnabled 1

This is the output

dsmod succeeded:CN=User1,OU=1,OU=2,OU=3,DC=example,DC=com
    dsmod succeeded:CN=User2,OU=1,OU=2,OU=3,DC=example,DC=com
    dsmod succeeded:CN=User3,OU=1,OU=2,OU=3,DC=example,DC=com

Most seems to do what I anticipate. It pulls a list of users from the OU, cycles through that list and changes the password to the variable $passwords. The problem I am having is that the $passwords variable is passed as an entire block and not applied line by line. For example...

$Passwords

user1

user2

user3

So when the password is applied, it becomes users1user2user3q3 and not user1q3 for User1 and user2q3 for User2.

I'm thinking it has something to do with split line, but that's just a guess.

Really hope this makes sense and I can find some help.

Tuesday, August 11, 2015 4:57 PM

Answers

• Here's something you can play with:

Get-ADUser -Filter * -SearchBase 'OU=Users - TEST,DC=domain,DC=com' | ForEach {