none
Scrolling Marquee for birthday wishes in sharepoint online

Question

•  I am new in sharepoint online and I would appreciate expert advice. I have an employee database in xlsx which has names & birthdays of all employees. 

I have developed a sharepoint intranet and want to display the birthdays of  the employees. For example the names of the employees whose birthday is today will be shown in scrolling marquee in birthday section.

Please help.

Friday, September 9, 2016 12:50 PM

All replies

• Create a SharePoint list and map all the values from excel to the list. Then, using oob webparts like content search web part or using custom jsom/csom logic try displaying the data on the portal.

Thanks.

Saturday, September 10, 2016 4:24 PM
  • Hi,

It’s more recommended to process list data than excel data in SharePoint and SharePoint online supports to load excel data into SharePoint list. Thus, I suggest you load excel data into list:

http://3sharp.com/blog/load-excel-data-into-a-sharepoint-2013-list-fast-and-easy/

There is no OOB way to display scroll marquee in SharePoint page, you need to achieve it by coding. The Content Editor web part in SharePoint is used to add HTML content in current page. You can add your custom script in page to display the scroll marquee.

A simple demo about creating a Scrolling Marque in SharePoint for your reference:

http://sharepointbyte.com/how-to-create-an-html-marquee-scrolling-text-in-sharepoint-2013/

Thanks,

Dean Wang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Monday, September 12, 2016 12:05 PM
  • Many thanks to Dean Wang and Nakkeerann. I have managed to show marquee scrolling in Sharepoint O365.