none
Mail still routing to a scoped send connector

Question

• Hello

This is my first time asking a question on this forum. I would really appreciate some help with a mail flow issue we are having. Ive also made up a few domain names to explain whats going on. 

Our UK company has purchased a company in the US. We have installed an Exchange server in the US office with all roles installed. We have added their domain (USA.com) as an accepted domain and made this the primary SMTP address for all US users. We have created a scoped send connector so that all mail sent from their exchange server goes out through to a smart host (spam filter) which is different to the smart host in the UK. 

In the UK, we have a three node DAG and two CAS server which are load balanced by a Kemp load balancer. 

In the UK, we have a scoped send connector which sends email to our current smart host (spam filter) and all mailboxes have unitedKindom.com as their primary SMTP Address. 

The smart host (spam filter) in the US is configured to only allow email addresses from USA.com, so if someone from the UK sends and email, it CANNOT go out through the US Scoped Send connector, as it will get blocked by their spam filter. 

But lo and behold, if someone in the UK sends an email to a recipient with a USA.com address and includes an external recipient in the email, the email is sent all the way down to the US and out through the US scoped send connector. Their smart host (spam filter) blocks the message and gives the following error in the NDR:

- "Remote Server returned '553 sorry, relay of mail is not allowed. (#5.7.1)'"

One thing I have checked it that my AD Sites and Services are setup correctly. They definitely are. 

So why are these emails going down to the US send connector, which are scoped and also have the US exchange server as their "Source Server"?

Many Thanks

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 3:24 PM

All replies